Reactor Safeguard Committee

The primary concern of the Reactor Safeguard Committee is with matters of nuclear safety related to the MIT Research Reactor, including the safety of personnel on and off site. The committee reviews and approves all new operating plans and policies, all significant modifications thereto, and all new experiments involving significant changes in procedure prior to implementation. The committee verifies that nuclear reactor operation is consistent with MIT policy, rules, approved operating procedures, and license provisions.

Prof. James David Litster, Chair (June 30, 2012) Physics
Prof. Mary L. Cummings (August 31, 2013) Aeronautics And Astronautics
Prof. Benoit Robert Yves Forget (August 31, 2012) Nuclear Engineering
Ms. Patricia Drooff ^ (August 31, 2013) Radiology, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Dr. Charles W. Forsberg (August 31, 2014) Nuclear Science and Engineering
Prof. Peter Griffith (August 31, 2012) Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Joseph Kehayias ^ (August 31, 2014) <i>Tufts University</i>
Mr. Francis X. Masse Emeritus, Environment, Health, and Safety Office
Dr. Edward E. Pilat (August 31, 2013) Nuclear Engineering
Mr. Tom Sowdon ^ (August 31, 2014) Energy Nuclear Generating Company
Mr. Ronald M. Thurlow ^ (August 31, 2014) Florida Power and Light
Prof. Claude R. Canizares * Office of the Provost
Mr. Louis Diberardinis * "Environment, Health & Safety Office"
Mr. Mitchell S. Galanek * "Environment, Health & Safety Office"
Dr. William B. McCarthy * "Environment, Health & Safety Office"
Prof. David E. Moncton * Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
Mr. Thomas H. Newton * Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
Ms. Susan S. D. Tucker # Nuclear Reactor Laboratory

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

- ^ Non-MIT Member
- # Ex Officio Non-Voting L On Leave