Environmental Health and Safety, Institute Council on

The Institute Council on Environmental Health and Safety is responsible to the President for coordinating the policy development and the assessment of procedures of the several Institute committees concerned with specific areas of environmental health and safety. The council serves as a forum in which overlapping and joint areas of concern of these committees are reviewed and clarified and wherein questions in dispute by individual committees will be resolved. The council is also responsible for identification of those new environmental health and safety matters that may emerge as new activities are undertaken and as new technologies develop or old ones change direction. In instances where such new activities do not fall within the purview of an existing committee, the council may expand the area of concern of an existing committee or recommend the creation of a new committee.

- Prof. Claude R. Canizares, Chair * *Office of the Provost* Prof. Rick Lane Danheiser * *Chemistry*
- Prof. Peter C. Dedon * Bioengineering & Environment
- Dr. David V. Diamond * Medical
- Mr. Louis Diberardinis * "Environment, Health & Safety Office"
- Dr. Catherine L. Fiore * Plasma Science and Fusion Center
- Dr. Leigh Maxwell Firn * Medical
- Ms. Deborah L. Fisher * Executive Vice President and Treasurer
- Prof. James G. Fox * Dept Admin & Lab Directors
- Ms. Magdalena W. Himmel * School of Science
- Prof. David E. Housman * Biology
- Prof. James David Litster * *Physics*
- Dr. Barbara L. O'Pray * *Medical*
- Ms. Donna R. Savicki * School Of Engineering
- Mr. William C. VanSchalkwyk * Executive Vice President and Treasurer

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

#

- Ex Officio Non-Voting
- ^ Non-MIT Member
- ficio Non-Voting L On Leave